Not All On My Own

Since I’ve pretty much been interested in art all my life, I’ve constantly been asked the following several questions:

“How do you come up with ideas for projects or works? What is the secret to thinking creatively?” or “What kinds of things do you look at?”

A little word of advice for anyone who isn’t already artistically inclined or is aware of how the art world actually works, we are all in some way avid stealers. Okay, borrowers, influencers, whatever term tickles your fancy! It is particularly hard to say that any one of us artists (I think I can call myself that) have ever truly come up with a clear idea without any kind of reference to anything (art related or not) before us. Even if we don’t think we are referencing or relating our ideas to anything in particular, we most likely probably are.

This is hard for some to deal with, especially since most of us are pretty selfish. I mean,  who doesn’t want to come up with great ideas all on their own? And no, I am not saying that it is impossible for anyone to not come up with their own idea through and through, but there is usually some sort of psychological referencing going on deep down in the brain.

In terms of how I find inspiration for my own works, I am constantly searching and thinking. I look on social media sites like Instagram and Pinterest, I read magazines, books, and articles, and I look on good old google to see what other artists and non-artists are getting up to every now and then. I think it’s important to constantly be looking at things, and I mean, actually looking. Even things as simple as nature or architecture. Look at the way the lines and the curves of leaves form or the way that shadows are created by buildings at certain times of the day. It’s the little things that can sometimes give us the greatest sparks of inspiration.

So the next time someone asks me how I thought of an idea, now you know, it wasn’t all on my own!

 

Leave a Reply

