Food For Thought

I’m obsessed with food. Always have been, and probably always will be! I just love creating recipes and playing around with different ingredients to see what I can come up with. If I had to choose between cooking or baking though, I’d probably choose baking. I have a much larger sweet tooth than a savory one!

When it comes to the art world, I’ve recently become interested in the realm of food photography. If you think about it, behind every picture of food is a photographer, an editor, and a stylist rearranging and lighting a plate of food. Their jobs are to create the most appealing, mouth watering, “must have it now” dishes. With the help of a few simple hacks, like spraying food with olive oil or using a blow torch to get that perfect charred grill mark. After doing some research of my own, it’s been quite interesting to reveal these tricks and realize just how skillful these artists are.  And believe it or not, I do consider them artists!

I hope that going forward in my art career, I can take part in some sort of food photography business. I think it would be a lot of fun to work with and shoot forms that most people don’t really give much thought into. That’s what makes it all so special.

Here are a few shots I’ve taken just playing around with fruit and other food (that I usually have laying around my house).

Leave a Reply

